Department of Emergency Management

Our Mission: To protect the lives, property and environment of the people of Nye County from the threat or occurrence of emergencies resulting from any natural or man-made disaster, including but not limited to flood, fire, earthquake, windstorm, drought, technological incidents, terrorism, epidemic, and tornadoes.

Preparation for and carrying out of all emergency functions shall be accomplished through the four phases of emergency management: mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery.

Activities to meet this end include coordination, planning, training, drills, exercises, and financial assistance.

We invite the involvement of the citizens of Nye County, and offer a wide scope of programs for citizens of all backgrounds who wish to participate in this effort. Be sure to check the training opportunities on our "training events" page, as well as contacting us directly to find out how you can become involved in the safe guarding of your community. 

Nye County Declaration of Existence of Local Emergency - Hilary - August 20, 2023 (pdf)